Latest Album

Avian Thug

Artist: Naked Truth
Label: RareNoiseRecords
Release Date: 2015-11-27
1. Rapid Fire
Buy Track
2. Lazy Elephant
Buy Track
3. Trap Door
Buy Track
4. Tense Shaman
Buy Track
5. Avian Thug
Buy Track
6. Day Two At Bedlam
Buy Track
7. Moon At Noon
Buy Track

Recorded in the South Of England at the end of their 2013 European Tour, Avian Thug is the third studio album by jazz-rock ensemble Naked Truth, after Shizaru in 2011 and Ouroboros in 2012.

Avian Thug develops its themes across seven compositions, stretching from intensely furious electric jazz cavalcades, whose ancestry can be traced back both to Miles’ electric work but also more recent European progressive jazz and progressive rock, to extended soundscapes, whose colors are reminiscent of the work of Jon Hassell or Nils Petter Molvaer.

Over the last four years, Naked Truth’s writing style has become progressively more incisive and focused, aided by the very tight co-production work of Lorenzo Feliciati and Bill Laswell, who also is responsible for the final mix of Avian Thug. Graham Haynes’ trumpet tone has acquired clarity and expressiveness, Feliciati’s bass work is now more essential as are Powell’s prestidigitations on analog keyboards and prepared piano, supported by Mastelotto’s polyrhythmic ever inventive and powerful electronic and acoustic drum and percussion work.

Naked Truth’s music was always recognizable as erupting from a magmatic cauldron of inventions; with Avian Thug it reaches a new maturity where instrumental prowess and poetic insight are tightly knit into a vigorous but balanced weave of form and substance.


Graham Haynes : Trumpet and Electronics
Lorenzo Feliciati : Basses, Guitars, Keys
Roy Powell : Electric Keyboards, Analog Synths, Organ, Prepared Piano.
Pat Mastelotto : Acoustic and Electric Drums and Percussion.

Composed, arranged and performed by Naked Truth
Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Produced by Lorenzo Feliciati and Bill Laswell

Recorded end of 2013 at Yellowfish Studios, East Sussex, UK
Additional recording at Pat’s Worm Hole, Dripping Springs, USA

Mixed by Bill Laswell at Orange Studios, NJ
Mastered by Mike Fossenkemper at TurtleTone Studios, NYC

Artwork and Design by ROK

Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords : Giacomo Bruzzo