Latest Album


Artist: Mumpbeak
Label: RareNoiseRecords
Release Date: 2017-05-26
Available Now On:
1. Boot
Buy Track
2. Brick
Buy Track
3. Saw
Buy Track
4. Slip
Buy Track
5. Cot
Buy Track
6. Caboose
Buy Track
7. Stone
Buy Track

On their follow-up to their formidable self-titled debut on RareNoise in 2013, Mumpbeak again conjures up memories of vintage King Crimson, Emerson, Lake & Palmer, Gentle Giant and other prog-rock pioneers on Tooth. Led by the innovative keyboardist-composer and Oslo-based UK expatriate Roy Powell, whose other RareNoise output includes releases by Interstatic and Naked Truth, and featuring bassist and longtime collaborator Lorenzo Feliciati (Powell’s bandmate in Naked Truth who has also released the solo albums Frequent Flyer and KOI on RareNoise), this new edition of the prog-rock-jazz power trio showcases the remarkable Norwegian drummer Torstein Lofthus, who is a member of Red Kite and of the psychedelic prog-rock-jazz trio Elephant 9.

Together this like-minded triumvirate travels from slamming, intricately executed vehicles like Boot, Cot and Brick to more atmospheric soundscapes like Slip and Caboose to the explosive jazz jam on Stone.


All compositions by Roy Powell except Caboose (Powell/Feliciati)

Roy Powell - Hohner Clavinet, Moog Little Phatty, Hammond Organ, Tubular Bells
Lorenzo Feliciati – Bass
Torstein Lofthus - Drums

Recorded 7-8th September 2016 by Lars Voldsdal at Velvet Recording, Norway

Mixed 24th October and 22nd Nov 2016 by Lars Voldsdal at Velvet Recording

Mastered by Mike Fossenkemper at TurtleTone Studio NYC
Produced by Roy Powell, Lorenzo Feliciati and Torstein Lofthus
Executive Producer for RareNoiseRecords : Giacomo Bruzzo

All compositions by Roy Powell except Caboose (Powell/Feliciati)

Published by RareNoisePublishing (PRS)

Roy thanks Trine, Alice, Mathea, Emily, Runi, Giacomo, Lorenzo, Torstein, Theo, William, Steve, The Moundash Foundation. 
Lorenzo thanks Markbass amps, Cort basses and Galli strings. 
Torstein thanks Zildjian and Ludwig.